In Marin County, you better play ball and take care of your trash. Illegal dumping is against California law and local ordinances, with harsh fines and even potential jail time. Be responsible and avoid legal trouble by relying on junk hauling services to clean up instead.
Let’s look at the laws and penalties for illegal dumping Marin County residents should know about.
Illegal Dumping Marin County & California Laws
State laws make it illegal to dump trash on public property, or on private property without the consent of the owner. Marin County law makes it illegal for any individual to bring garbage into the county. Simply put, you have to properly dispose of everything!
In addition to the state laws against general illegal dumping Marin County specifically protects waterways and public parks. Also, you need a permit to operate a dump in Marin. Construction crews and other businesses cannot simply operate their own dump without following a number of rules, getting approval and obtaining a permit.
Be sure to keep roadways clear, too. California law expressly forbids dumping concrete, rocks, dirt and other such debris in a way that blocks roads.
To completely steer clear of laws against illegal dumping Marin County residents and businesses should hire junk removal services whenever generating too much trash for regular garbage.
Penalties for Illegal Dumping
Your wallet will feel the burn if you get caught dumping. Here’s the penalty structure:
- For the first offense, California imposes a fine of at least $250 and as much as $1,000.
- For a second conviction, fines range from $500 to $1,500. Third convictions go up to $750 to $3,000.
- If used tires are included in your debris, the fines may be doubled.
- Judges can also make you pick up the garbage, pay for its removal, and/or do community service (picking up trash, of course.
- Each day counts as a separate charge, so lingering trash means extra penalties!
The penalties get stiffer for businesses — including a county jail term of up to 6 months for the person in charge. Commercial dumping has a base fine of $1,000 to $3,000 and multiple offenders can be fined up to $10,000. All it takes is 1 cubic yard of waste (other than household waste) to be classified as commercial dumping.
If you frequently deal with construction or real estate, you definitely want to avoid racking up multiple offenses over the years. Much better to avoid the illegal dumping Marin County and state laws — and get professional junk haulers instead.
What’s the Difference Between Littering and Dumping?
To define illegal dumping Marin County essentially lumps together all kinds of trash, waste, and debris. The law is more concerned with where you dump your waste: on land, on roads, in water, or blocking storm drains.
California law makes things clearer: littering means dropping small amounts of trash that a person would carry in their hands or pockets. Larger items being left behind? That’s illegal dumping.
Cash Reward for Reporting Illegal Dumping
Consider yourself warned: Marin County and the state of California offer monetary rewards for people who report illegal dumpers. Your neighbors have extra incentive to turn you in!
If somebody has info that leads to a conviction, California will award half of the fines collected as cash. Marin County offers an additional $50 as a reward.
To fight illegal dumping Marin County has substantial fines and a system that holds people accountable for failing to dispose of garbage responsibly. Don’t run afoul of the law — talk to Junk-King about hauling trash away immediately.